Pick the right degree course – Information Management

It’s that time of year again when A-Level results in the UK have arrived, which led me to think about what degree course I would have picked, if I had my time again.

When I chose my degree course, quite a few years ago, Biotechnology was the next big thing, and I jumped into that with the promise of all the fun, (and beneficial), things you can do with bacteria via genetic engineering.  After 3 years of this, I was left with the realisation that the Biotech revolution was still some way off, I’d need to spend another 3 years at university working on a PhD, and trying to control nature is not a very straight forward or easy thing to do.  So I jump out of science and fell into computing and more importantly Information Management.

In my ongoing review of news and articles within Information Management, it is becoming clear that there is and going to be a very big demand for those that can analyse, interpret and apply insight from the vast volumes of data generated each year.  This is evidenced in IBM’s current marketing around Information Management and a number of large dotcom’s talking about the need for employees that can provide the analytical insight they need.

So, what course would I pick now?  I’d want one that was business focused but gave me a deep understanding in Information Managment and how to understand what all that data and information ment.  I’d want to move beyond my A-Level statistics and learn a lot more about applied statistics and data mining.

There are a number of courses worldwide that can provide this, but here is one in the UK – BSc Business Information Management Degree.

If I was looking at the right course to pick, I’d definately consider where the current and future demand for skills will be, and Information Management is going to be a growth area.

If you are currently going via clearing to try and find a place on a degree course, then I recommend to look at those courses that focus on Information Management, as I suspect they are not as popular as other courses, but they will provide you with a valuable, employable skill, that can give you a rewarding carrer with employment opportunities worldwide, across all industries.

About Andy Painter

A passionate Information and Data Architect with experience of the financial services industry, Andy’s background spans pharmaceuticals, publishing, e-commerce, retail banking and insurance, but always with a focus on data. One of Andy’s principle philosophies is that data is a key business asset.
This entry was posted in Business Intelligence, Education, Information Management and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

